Voices Israel Poetry

Group of Poets in English

Reuben Rose Competition

Voices holds an annual competition in memory of Reuben Rose, the founding editor. Submissions are invited from members and are judged by a panel of three independent judges. Cash prizes totaling $650 are awarded as well as publication of the winning poems and honorable mentions.

Below is general information about the competition, followed by details of the 29th (2018) competition, which is now closed and in the process of being judged.


First prize $500, second prize $150, third prize $50.

Ten honorable mentions are awarded. 

Prizewinners and all honorable mentions are published in the Voices Israel Poetry Anthology of the following year (e.g. winners and honorable mentions of the 2018 competition will be published in the 2019 Anthology).

Requirements for Entries

Anyone, anywhere may submit.


Line limit per poem: 41 lines, including any stanza breaks, dedication, epigraph, etc., but not including the title.

Poems must be in English and previously unpublished (no print publication and no online publication with the exception of the monthly Voices Israel newsletter).

Poems are judged without the poets’ names.  Make sure that your name appears only on the Submission page, not anywhere in the file you send or in the file's name. 

We retain a non-exclusive right to publish and republish the winning poems and honorable mentions in all media, while the poet retains copyright and can also republish after the winners are announced.

Submission Procedure

Starting this year, all poems must be submitted and entry fees paid via the online submissions service, Submittable. We will put a link to the submissions form in the specific information about each competition, for the duration of the submission period.

Poets having difficulty using Submittable will be able to contact the competition administrator (currently Mark Levinson) at 

Entry Fees

US$6.00 for 1 poem

US$12.00 for 3 poems

US$18.00 for 6 poems.

The 29th Annual Reuben Rose Poetry Competition

Submission Period

Entries were received during the period 15th July, 2018 to 3rd October 2018.


Entries were assessed anonymously by three judges:

- Peter Thabit Jones - award winning Welsh poet

- Marc Radzyner of Israel - last years first prize winner

- Iris Dan of Israel - last year's honorable mention winner.