The Voices Israel Group of Poets

in English

Reuben Rose Competition

Voices Israel holds an annual competition in memory of Reuben Rose, the founding editor. Submissions are invited from members and are judged by a panel of three independent judges. Cash prizes totaling $700 are awarded as well as publication of the winning poems and honorable mentions.

The three winning poems of the competition, and the poems awarded an Honorable Mention, are published in the following year's Anthology. Online versions of the winning poems are also posted here on our website. They can be accessed by year from the top menu, above, or by clicking here.

Please note: Poems published on this Voices Israel website and files linked to it, including in our newsletters, competition announcements, and workshop chapbooks, are sole copyright of the poets themselves. Voices Israel expressly does not give permission for reproduction or syndication elsewhere without the poets' written permission.

The 2021 Competition

The winning poems of the 32nd Reuben Rose Competition (2021) have now been announced. You can read the three prize-winning poems and the ten that gained Honorable Mentions here (PDF file).

The judges for the 2021 competition were:

  • Ricky Rapoport Friesem - the 2020 First Prize winner.
  • Jane Seitel - the 2020 Second Prize winner.
  • David Caplan - Overseas Judge for 2021. 

David Caplan is a Full Professor of English and assistant director of creative writing at Ohio Wesleyan University. He is a member of the executive Committee of the Modern Language Association's Creative Writing Forum. He has published two books of poems, has won the Virginia quarterly Reviews Emily Clark Balch Prize for Poetry, and is a contributing editor to the Virginia Quarterly Review and to Pleiades: A Journal of New Writing.  In 2018, when on sabbatical in Israel, he gave us a workshop in Haifa, and we are very happy to welcome him back to Voices Israel as our Overseas Judge.


First prize $500, second prize $150, third prize $50.

Ten honorable mentions are awarded. 

Prizewinners and all honorable mentions are published in the Voices Israel Poetry Anthology of the following year (e.g. winners and honorable mentions of the 2021 competition will be published in the 2022 Anthology).

Requirements for Entries

Anyone, anywhere may submit.


Line limit per poem: 41 lines, including any stanza breaks, dedication, epigraph, etc., but not including the title.

Please do not use unconventional formatting (such as tilting words, inserting symbols, mixing font sizes, etc.).

We do not accept illustrations. Any included with the submitted poems will be discarded.

Poems must be in English and previously unpublished, in print or online, and  must remain unpublished until the list of winners is e-mailed to the entrants. Inclusion in the monthly Voices Israel newsletter or in a chapbook from Voices Israel workshops is not considered publication.

Poems are judged anonymously - without the poets’ names.  Please make sure that your name appears only on the Submission page, not anywhere in the file you send or in the file's name. Failure to observe this rule may result in your inability to enter the competition.

We retain a non-exclusive right to publish and republish the winning poems and honorable mentions in all media, while the poet retains copyright and can also republish after the winners are announced.

Submission Procedure

All poems must be submitted and entry fees paid via the online submissions service, Submittable.  If you find you are unable to use the website, please write to

Entry Fees

US$6.00 for 1 poem

US$12.00 for 3 poems
US$18.00 for 6 poems.

A button linking to the submission form will be placed here when the competition next opens, in July 2022.