The Voices Israel Group of Poets

in English

Reuben Rose Competition

Voices Israel holds an annual competition in memory of Reuben Rose, the founding editor. Submissions are invited from members and are judged by a panel of three independent judges. Cash prizes totaling $700 are awarded as well as publication of the winning poems and honorable mentions.

The three winning poems of the competition, and the poems awarded an Honorable Mention, are published in the following year's Anthology. Online versions of the winning poems are also here on our website. They can be accessed by year from the top menu, above, or by clicking here.

Please note: Poems published on this Voices Israel website and files linked to it, including in our newsletters, competition announcements, and workshop chapbooks, are sole copyright of the poets themselves. Voices Israel expressly does not give permission for reproduction or syndication elsewhere without the poets' written permission.

Below is general information about the competition, followed by details of the 30th (2019) competition, which will be open for submissions from July 15 through October 4, 2019.


First prize $500, second prize $150, third prize $50.

Ten honorable mentions are awarded. 

Prizewinners and all honorable mentions are published in the Voices Israel Poetry Anthology of the following year (e.g. winners and honorable mentions of the 2018 competition will be published in the 2019 Anthology).

Requirements for Entries

Anyone, anywhere may submit.


Line limit per poem: 41 lines, including any stanza breaks, dedication, epigraph, etc., but not including the title.

Poems must be in English and previously unpublished (no print publication and no online publication with the exception of the monthly Voices Israel newsletter).

Poems are judged anonymously - without the poets’ names.  Please make sure that your name appears only on the Submission page, not anywhere in the file you send or in the file's name. Failure to observe this rule may result in your inability to enter the competition.

We retain a non-exclusive right to publish and republish the winning poems and honorable mentions in all media, while the poet retains copyright and can also republish after the winners are announced.

Submission Procedure

All poems must be submitted and entry fees paid via the online submissions service, Submittable.  If you find you are unable to use the website, please write to or contact Mark Levinson at 054-444-8438.

We will put a link to the submissions form with the specific information about each competition, for the duration of the submission period.

Entry Fees

US$6.00 for 1 poem

US$12.00 for 3 poems
US$18.00 for 6 poems.

The 30th Annual Reuben Rose Poetry Competition

Submission Period

Entries will be accepted during the period 15th July, 2019 to 3rd October 2019.

To submit from July 15th only, click on the button below: 


The three judges for the 2019 competition are:

-  Katherine L. Gordon of Ontario, Canada - award-winning poet, is our overseas judge

- John Gallas of the UK, last year's Reuben Rose first prize winner.

- Donna Bechar of Israel, last year's Reuben Rose second prize winner.